Staff Q&A: Jake Harvey

Name:  Jake Harvey

Job title(s): Officially: Assistant Operations Manager. Also Film programme and Marketing support.

How did you get started working at Phoenix Square?
I came back from travelling and had always wanted to work at Phoenix but it was closed.  So I started working at a cafe, and when heard Phoenix was accepting applications I applied.  I started at Phoenix about 2 months before we opened in 2009 but worked both jobs until October 2010 when I switched to full-time at Phoenix.

Favourite thing about working at Phoenix Square?
The movies and the people. Being able to bring life-changing films to others. Being surrounded by like-minded people who care so much and are so passionate about the place.

Best memories at Phoenix Square?
Putting on the RetroActive Festival. Me, Graham Muir and Andy Jones all working an 18 hour shift to deliver the event on about 4 hours sleep. Knackering but worth it. Also watching Big Lebowski by candlelight at Social Cinema, will always remember that.

Favourite Phoenix Square event?
It might have been Frightarama, but RetroActive was incredible.

What do you get up to outside of Phoenix Square?
Watch movies. Any spare time is measured out in 90 minute gaps. So if it is 10pm at night, 2 films is approx 180 mins/ 3hrs so will go to bed at 1am.

Do you have any other hidden talents?
I can juggle, I have different coloured eyes, and I am word-perfect on the film “The Warriors.” That is literally it.

Your favourite place, outside of Phoenix Square?
Agua Verde Farm in Michoacán, Mexico.

If money was no object what would you buy?
I would buy the place across the road and create another Screen/ Cocktail bar for Phoenix, which I would run with an iron fist. Would not show anything new. Just retrospectives of great movies/ directors etc. I would also try to make it more obvious where Phoenix is so I would put about a billion lights on us (so we can literally be seen from space) with a hundred fluorescent signs and signposts marking the way here from every single place in Leicester.
I would also like a dog.

Who would you like to play you in a film of your life?
Philip Seymour Hoffman

What’s your favourite snack?
Popcorn.

Tell us a secret…
I have watched The Scorpion King at least 6 times. I don’t know why. I don’t think I actually like it, it’s almost like torturing myself. I mean it has Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson for god’s sake. But also Bernard “Yosser Hughes” Hill. It’s just very confusing.

Tell us a joke…
So one day a dyslexic walks into a bra.

This entry was posted in Behind the Scenes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment